I jumped the gun and launched my blog before writing up a manifesto, or more accurately, a fuzzy idea of what this is all about. Hopefully this post will serve that purpose.

To be honest, I’m not yet sure what direction I want this blog to take. Part of it is a writing exercise for my own benefits. Part of it is a way for me to share the odd little clips and blips that catch my fancy. And yet, another part of it is a way for me to share what I’ve learned from my projects and my work. There are very few blogs out there written by scientists who share (in nerdy detail) how they go about tinkering and conducting research. I would like to think that I strive for a certain transparency and openness, both in my own work, and in the tools that I use. So, I suppose you might say that this is partially an experiment in open research, not only to inform a larger public, but also share and collaborate with my peers.

Some posts I would like to make:

  • Why I enjoy pain and prefer using Ubuntu (linux) for my work
  • Ideas on the role of Open Source in science (I would also like to tackle scientific journals, but that is going to be a big fish to bring in)
  • Gross details about the project I’m working on now. It’s pilot project using empirical data on urban heat islands and snow. The data set is huge (for a project of this size). Mostly patched together with Python and R.
  • Various other little things

I want this to be a resource to those noobies who’ve realized that they have a similar curiosity about the world and a passion for research. But, I’ll also be the first to admit that I’m approaching this as a naive, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed young researcher. It may be interesting to trace how these ideas and interests change with age and experience.

It would be great to hear what you, oh-wise-reader, have to say about this. I love input.

Oh, and btw. I’ve changed the license of the blog to CC 3.0 BY-SA.

